House Representatives Introduce International Press Freedom Bill

On May 3, Representatives Bill Keating (D-MA) and David Cicilline (D-RI) introduced the International Press Freedom Act of 2022. The Bill would create an Office on International Press Freedom within the State Department, establish an At-Risk Journalists fund, and create a new visa category for threatened journalists. Senator Tim Kaine introduced the bi-partisan Senate version of the Bill last year, co-sponsored by Senators Lindsey Graham (R-SC) and Richard Durbin (D-IL). The House Bill introduction comes as the 2021 World Press Freedom Index is released by Reporters Without Borders, showing increasing difficulties and dangers for journalists around the world. Read more.


New episode of News Take: Free Press Focus: How Do We Ensure Protections for the Press After Shocking Police Raid? - Watch now