Congressmen Cleaver and LaTurner Honored for Leadership in Postal Policy

Congressmen Emanual Cleaver (D-MO) and Jake LaTurner (R-KS) were honored with the second annual “Benjamin Franklin Award for Distinguished Leadership in Postal Policy.” The award is given to members of Congress who have led efforts to preserve and protect the U.S. Postal Service. Most recently, Rep. Cleaver led a letter to the USPS Board of Governors questioning the onerous twice-a-year rate hikes that have led to alarming mail volume declines. Through his service on the Committee on Oversight and Accountability, Rep. LaTurner specifically asked questions on behalf of The Alliance at a Congressional hearing last year regarding a recent study on the inefficiencies in the processing of flats mail as required by the Postal Service Reform Act and concern for increased rates. The awards were presented by Keep US Posted Executive Director and former Congressman Kevin Yoder (R-KS) during a special reception in Washington, D.C. The Alliance is a member of Keep US Posted and attended the award presentation.

Photo from L to R: Congressman Emanual Cleaver (D-MO); Keep US Posted Executive Director, Kevin Yoder; and Congressman Jake LaTurner (R-KS)


Recording Available: Optimizing Engagement with Your 2024 Election News Coverage - Watch now