Local Journalism Sustainability Act

Local Journalism Sustainability Act


On July 16, 2020, a bipartisan group of policymakers in the House of Representatives introduced H.S. 7640, the Local Journalism Sustainability Act.

If enacted, the bill would provide a series of tax credits for news consumers, news organizations and local newspaper and broadcast advertisers.

Click on the buttons below to access resources and materials related to the Local Journalism Sustainability Act.

Contact Alliance Senior VP, Public Policy, Paul Boyle, for more information on the Local Journalism Sustainability Act.

About the Bill

The legislation provides:

  • A non-refundable tax credit for consumers of up to $250 annually to incentivize individual subscriptions to local news organizations. The credit can cover 80 percent of subscription costs in the first year and 50 percent of subscription costs in the subsequent four years. 
  • A refundable tax credit for local newspapers of up to $25,000 in the first year for each employee or independent contractor who is a qualified journalist, and up to $15,000 in the subsequent four years. If the tax credit is greater than taxes owed, the difference will be refunded to the news organization.
  • A non-refundable tax credit for small- to medium-sized businesses to advertise with local newspapers, as well as local radio and television stations. The credit can cover up to $5,000 of advertising costs in the first year and $2,500 in the subsequent four years.

To qualify for the tax credits, a news organization must have 51 percent or more of its audience in a state or single area within a 200-mile radius.


Talking Points:

Alliance LJSA Press Releases & Statements:

CEO Statement: The News Media Alliance Supports the Local Journalism Sustainability Act

Editorials & Op-Eds


The Local Journalism Sustainability Act Needs Your Help, Now!

Editor & Publisher

E&P publisher Mike Blinder checks in with two of the Local Journalism Sustainability Act‘s founders, Francis Wick, president & CEO Wick Communications, and Alan Fisco, president of the Seattle Times; Paul Boyle, News Media Alliance senior vice president of public policy on how the lobbying in D.C. is going; and Dean Ridings, CEO of Americas’ Newspapers, about how local news publishers can contact their legislators to urge them to support this legislation.



Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick (D-AZ)  Sponsor
Rep. Suzanne Bonamici (D-OR)
Rep. Anthony Brindisi (D-NY)
Rep. Cheri Bustos (D-IL)
Rep. Salud Carbajal (D-CA)
Rep. Andre Carson (D-IN)
Rep. Joe Courtney (D-CT)
Rep. T.J. Cox (D-CA)
Rep. Peter DeFazio (D-OR)
Rep. Rosa DeLauro (D-CT)
Rep. Suzan DelBene (D-WA)
Rep. Mark De Saulnier (D-CA)
Rep. Adriano Espaillat (D-NY)
Rep. Raul Grijalva (D-AZ)
Rep. Debra Haaland (D-NM)
Rep. Josh Harder (D-CA)
Rep. Jahana Hayes (D-CT)
Rep. Denny Heck (D-WA)
Rep. Derek Kilmer (D-WA)
Rep. Ann Kuster (D-NH)
Rep. John Larson (D-CT)
Rep. Ted Lieu (D-CA)
Rep. Ben Lujan (D-NM)
Rep. Stephen Lynch (D-MA)
Rep. Jim McGovern (D-MA)
Rep. Seth Moulton (D-MA)
Rep. Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC)
Rep. Tom O’Halleran (D-AZ)
Rep. Collin Peterson (D-MN)
Rep. Mark Pocan (D-WI)
Rep. Kathleen Rice (D-NY)
Rep. Bobby Rush (D-IL)
Rep. Kim Schrier (D-WA)
Rep. Terri Sewell (D-AL)
Rep. Adam Smith (D-WA)
Rep. Tom Suozzi (D-NY)
Rep. Eric Swalwell (D-CA)
Rep. Mark Takano (D-CA)
Rep. Paul Tonko (D-NY)
Rep. Pete Visclosky (D-IN)
Rep. Peter Welch (D-VT)


Rep. Daniel Newhouse (R-WA) Sponsor
Rep. Jamie Herrera Beutler (R-WA)
Rep. Vern Buchanan (R-FL)
Rep. John Carter (R-TX)
Rep. Tom Cole (R-OK)
Rep. Rodney Davis (R-IL)
Rep. Scott DesJarlais (R-TN)
Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA)
Rep. Chuck Fleischmann (R-TN)
Rep. Bill Flores (R-TX)
Rep. Louie Gomert (R-TX)
Rep. John Katko (R-NY)
Rep. Peter King (R-NY)
Rep. David McKinley (R-WV)
Rep. David Roe (R-TN)
Rep. Elise Stefanik (R-NY)
Rep. Tom Tiffany (R-WI)
Rep. Randy Weber (R-TX)
Rep. Lee Zelden (R-NY)


News/Media Alliance Calls on FTC, DOJ to Investigate Google’s Misappropriation of Digital News Publishing, Stop Expansion of Generative AI Overviews Offering - Read more