Senate Confirms Day And Taub to Postal Regulatory Commission

The United States Senate confirmed the nominations of Thomas G. Day and Robert Taub as Commissioners of the Postal Regulatory Commission (PRC) on September 28. President Biden made the nominations, and they were advanced by the Senate Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs following hearings that took place earlier this month. As an independent agency that exercises regulatory oversight over the Postal Service, the PRC’s responsibilities include preventing anticompetitive practices, promoting accountability, adjudicating complaints, setting postal rates, and helping oversee delivery service standards. The PRC is made up of five commissioners who serve six-year terms. Taub is a two-time appointee to the Commission following unanimous confirmations in 2011 and 2016. This will be Taub’s third term, and he previously served as the chairman from December 2014 until January 2021. As a first-term commissioner, Day will bring broad experience in both the global and domestic postal sectors, including 35 years working in senior roles at the Postal Service.


News/Media Alliance Applauds Senators Schumer, Heinrich, Rounds and Young for Recognizing Importance of Journalism in AI Forums, New Report Learn more